Skip to content

Daiku Bob’s 2009 Goals

January 5, 2009

According to the Chinese calendar, 2009 is the year of the Ox. The Ox is the symbol of “prosperity through fortitude and hard work.” Wikipedia goes on to say “The Ox is not extravagant, and the thought of living off credit cards or being in debt makes them nervous.” Huh? Who made this stuff up? That doesn’t read like Chinese astrology to me. In any case, given the current global economic woes, we’re all going to need a bit of fortitude and hard work in the coming year(s).

I like to set goals to start off the new year. Last year I set about 12 goals and met 3. Having too many goals can be a distraction so this year I’m shrinking the list down to only a handful of goals. To help make the goals a reality, I plan to use the S.M.A.R.T. Goals method and to track them very closely.

My goals:

  1. Learn SketchUp. I’ve been wanting to do this for the past 3 years. It’s now or never.
  2. Take a summer course at College of the Redwoods. Registration begins in March and space is limited.
  3. Build more stuff out of wood. 2008 was a productive year for me. This year I want to focus on curvilinear designs and to experiment with wood bending and lamination.
  4. Develop this blog.
  5. Work out regularly. A healthy woodworker should also train like an athlete. Okay, I made that up. But it’s important to stay healthy and be strong regardless of your line of work or hobby. Oftentimes the amateur woodworker is working alone, carrying heavy lumber or plywood. Having a little bit of strength is a definite plus. My strength goals:
    • Chin-ups – 20 reps. My max is 16 reps and I’ve been stuck there for some time.
    • 1RM Deadlift 350 lbs. Max is 280 lbs but that was 2 years ago.
    • 1RM Back squat 250 lbs. Max is 210 lbs.
    • 1RM Bench press 200 lbs. Max is 180 lbs.
  6. Maintain consistency and stay organized through ritual, patterns, and repetition (I forget where I read that). Avoid procrastination, my biggest vice.

See also:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

